BEDA: April 11

I seem to be involved in some “friend drama” right now. According to my other friends, the girl who is trying to start said drama(also one of my closer friends) is attacking me because I am significantly less confrontational than the friend with which she is actually angry.

And that is true; I have very rarely been the kind of person to pick arguments. I think people see me as a pushover. My own friend was bothered that someone would pick on me instead of her, almost suggesting that I was weaker and less able to handle insults.

Maybe this makes me weak or a pushover to others, but the reason I so rarely argue back is because I honestly do not care. Where we eat dinner one evening or whether my friend is insulting me simply because she thinks she can get away with it is of no consequence to me. I just don’t find it worth the effort to defend myself in matters I find this trivial. With dinner, I will find something that is both vegetarian and interesting at most restaurants. I’ll offer my preferences if prompted–I’m not one of those “I don’t know, what do you want to do?” girls–but I won’t fight for an unpopular choice because it’s simply not worth my effort. With this new bit of drama in my life, I know that fighting back is going to have negative repercussions for my other friends, so I would rather let this one girl be proud that she “won” this time than push her to start punishing my other friends. I’m not a pushover. I just have priorities.

I really do care about things. I care about human rights. I care about those I love. I care about my future. I care about my education. I care about the future of our planet and the well-being of generations to come. When I consider the big things I am willing to stand up for, it’s a little harder to see the point in taking a stand against the decidedly unclever jabs taken at me by a fickle friend. I’m not backing down because I’m afraid to fight; I’m walking away because I honestly don’t care.

People can call me weak if they’d like. I know I’m strong when it matters.

About Katherine

Ravenclaw, INTJ, and a bit whiney.
This entry was posted in BEDA. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

