BEDA 2012 Day 5: Instastalgia

New term. When you go from hating something to romanticizing something the moment you stop doing it.

I do this all the freaking time. I had my last day at my internship today- the internship was a nuisance on its good days and soul-crushingly boring on its bad days. But I left today and all could think of was how nice everyone was and how I was so happy to have had the chance to help them out for the last 12 weeks. Now, the thing is, all of the stuff I said is true, but it is true simultaneously. My job sucked AND there were nice people who were grateful for my hard work. But why can’t I process both sides at one time?

This same thing seems to happen pretty much all the time with me. When I think about things I used to do with my sorority, I think fondly about going to cycling classes with the sophomores or about the way you always knew when someone is coming in to give you awesome gossip because it’s the only time they’ll close the door behind them. A guy from high school just asked me about my accounting internship last summer and I went on for a few paragraphs about the great intern class you’ll meet and how they help you build your professional network. 

I want to revisit this with more deep contemplation on the way the past always shines a little brighter than the present, but for now I’m just going to leave with an acknowledgement that it happens.

About Katherine

Ravenclaw, INTJ, and a bit whiney.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

